104 polling stations will be open on polling day

November 30, 2011

Quebec City, November 30, 2011 –– Concerning the by-election in the electoral division of Bonaventure, to be held  on Monday, December 5, 2011, the Chief Electoral Officer of Québec, Jacques Drouin, is reporting that  a total of 104 polling stations, spread over 33 polling places,  will be open from 9:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m..

The best way for electors to learn the address of their polling station is by referring to the reminder card distributed across the electoral division this week. They may also consult the special section dedicated to the by-election on the website of the Chief Electoral Officer, at www.electionsquebec.qc.ca, or contact the Information Centre, at 1-888-ELECTION (1-888-353-2846).

Electors must not forget to provide the deputy returning officer with their name and address in order to be allowed to vote. They must also provide proof of identity by presenting any one of the following documents:

•    Québec health insurance card
•    driver's licence
•    Canadian passport
•    certificate of Indian Status or
•    Canadian Armed Forces ID.

Statistics concerning advance polling

On November 28, at the conclusion of advance polling, 3,115 of the 29,481 electors who were registered by the end of the ordinary revision period had exercised their right to vote. It should be noted that the ballots cast at mobile polling stations and at the office of the returning officer are included in the advance polling statistics.

The following table provides a comparison with data gathered during advance polling for the last general election, held on December 8, 2008:

Electoral division
Number of registered electors  (2011)
Advance polling November 27
and 28, 2011*
 Number of registered electors (2008)
Advance polling   General election
December 8, 2008
 3,115 (10.57%)
 2,906 (10.01%)

*These data are incomplete since mobile polling and voting at the office of the returning officer will continue until December 1, 2011, at 2:00 p.m. Calculations are based on the number of electors registered on the list of electors at the conclusion of the ordinary revision period.

Categories : Provincial, By-elections

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive our news by e-mail.